Archinect
anchor

Part-timer

tinydancer

So, I am graduating soon and will be looking for employment-oh my...and wanted to ask those professionals out there a question...I have extensive experience in a related field (construction) and have about 230 of my IDP credits filled, but want to complete so that I can become registered. (I am not at the current time planning on going back into construction)
What is the liklihood of me finding a job that will allow me to work part-time -are employers open to this option and if so, would I still get assigned to interesting projects or be put at the bottom of the list and get the leftovers? Would like to be part-time for a few years of possible (planning on starting a family and don't want to be burned out)
Any advice? (not that smart-ass type, but the actual good advice that I know is out there and available)
Thanks!

Aug 25, 08 9:01 pm

it's not impossible, but it will have to be the right fit. it's just really hard to use part-time people effectively/productively. not that you can't be involved in all aspects of projects or get involved in good projects. but...

there are certain expectations about how things will progress with any project and, if you're a part-timer with the reins they 1) won't go as quickly and 2) you won't be there when the client calls and needs something. any project in which you MIGHT be given any real responsibility would instead have to have someone else involved to make sure it was OK from day to day.

you would likely be used as drafting support for however long you remain part time and your involvement in any one project might be short. instead you'd be assigned to wherever the need is greatest at any given time. this could be good in that you'll learn a lot about a lot of different things, but it can also be tiring as you'll be putting out fires, responding to quick deadlines.