Archinect
anchor

GIS

A_Learner

I am a 5 yrs professional returning to school taking urban design program. I had a 5 years professional degree previously. I wanted to take GIS subject (Geographic Information System) but am not sure how practical it is if applied in the office environment, either architecture, urban design, urban planning. Is it a sought-after skill, or at least in the latter 2 offices, urban design/planning? How does GIS assist you as a (conceptual) designer?

Aug 19, 08 9:41 pm
cowerd

most offices can't afford GiS software, as ESRI is the autodesk equivalent of the GiS world, except they have a much tighter grip on the monopoly. conceptually it can useful at a very large scale as the data sets are usually pretty primitive. you can acquire your own data at any scale, but that is time consuming and expensive.

i've seen interesting demos of urban projects with modeled objects with metadata attached. you can generate some pretty data rich models this way. most cities now generate and sell GiS data to developers and others.

my knowledge is pretty basic on this stuff, but i've used arcmap enough to detest the software with a burning passion. powerful but a headache.

Aug 19, 08 10:03 pm  · 
 · 
treekiller

if you want to work for a gov't agency as staff or as a consultant, GIS is for you. If you want to design- then might as well start logging GPS data points and making your own polygons.

Back at Penn, there is typically a GIS studio each year with Dana Tomlin - they master the skilz, but the projects always are disappointing when they move beyond the analysis. Oh, that was McHarg's problem too.

I never bothered to use ESRI's wares. between CAD and Illustrator, I can approximate the layers and analysis (and it looks better).

Aug 19, 08 10:23 pm  · 
 · 
faultsprofit