Archinect
anchor

This is how I think of buildings

Like The Pitch Drop Experiment.

Slowly changing over time.  Never inert, always on the move. Waiting us out.

(Also, Science Nerds, over on Thread Central we're currently discussing infinite shapes, among other things.)

Jul 31, 13 2:45 pm

From the Atlantic article: In the world beyond the tar's sealed jar, wars have broken out; peace has been restored; the Internet has been invented and commercialized; the moon has played host to the tread of human feet. And there the pitch has remained, slow and slick and taking its sweet time.

Jul 31, 13 2:47 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac

I get to measure buildings for a living these days and I have to agree Donna.  They're really "organic" in the way time can affect every element of a building.   

Jul 31, 13 6:01 pm  · 
 · 
gwharton

Have you read Stuart Brand's "How Buildings Learn"? It explores this idea of the time dimension in built environments in detail.

http://www.amazon.com/How-Buildings-Learn-Happens-Theyre/dp/0140139966

Jul 31, 13 6:54 pm  · 
 · 

We live - and our buildings exist - in a four dimensional world. Funny how many architects are oblivious to that when it is a basic, essential and universally prevalent existing condition.

Love the pitch drop - every material is plastic.

Jul 31, 13 6:57 pm  · 
 · 

I have read that book, gwharton, in grad school.  Similar but *much* less academic is Thermal Delight in Architecture by Lisa Heschong - it deals less with material change and more with the human perception of the change, but it's a lovely little book.  Good summer reading.

Right on, Miles.