Archinect
anchor

What to study in free time for an architectural engineering student?

Beshoy Adel

Hi, I just finished 2nd year of architectural engineering, I couldn't find an internship (and I was too afraid of asking a lot anyway because I feel that i have no experience) SO I now have about two months or less by some days of free time before I start the 3rd year, can you tell me some suggestions of things to study, maybe links on the internet or topics to study, I tried to search for assignments as I don't completely know all of the duties of an arch. engineer but I couldn't find any good resources, I'm by the way interested in the design and the artistic part of the school more than the "engineering" part, so any suggestions?
Thanks a lot.

Jul 30, 13 6:56 am
Jonathan Elmore
Get into the software. If you want a head start, you better know it inside and out.
Jul 30, 13 7:27 am  · 
 · 
Beshoy Adel

Yea, but what kind of software, I know auto cad, 3ds max and photoshop (gimp actually) all in a beginner manner (intermediate for auto cad) but what I meant is topics to study, as for example I may use auto cad or 3ds max  to design things, but what to design if I didn't design but 3-4 low quality projects, I mean different kinds of software are  means to do things, I'm asking about those things, but if you can recommend a software which I can enjoy learning, I'll be so thankful, thanks a lot helo53e.

Jul 30, 13 8:03 am  · 
 · 
Beshoy Adel

Please post new answers, I need to know some new things to learn in my free time.

Aug 2, 13 5:42 am  · 
 · 

Spend an hour every day hand sketching buildings you see.  Focus on details of connection points (eaves, exposed structure, corners) and don't just draw what you *think* you see but what is actually "happening* in the detail.

Seriously.

Aug 2, 13 7:41 am  · 
 · 
Beshoy Adel