Archinect
anchor

Going in to Consultancy PM (Rics accreditation)

hugo_istique

Im 25 years old, I have 3 years experience working in an international Corporate firm and have just gotten my RIBA Architect qualification after going to Architecture school in England for 5 years. Im considering to do a masters in project management that is RICS accredited (Royal institute of Chartered Surveyors) and then do a 2 year structure training at a consultancy firm to obtain my RICS membership but my only concern is that i will not be doing any design work at all, as a project manager in a corporate architecture firm does see a bit of design in the first stages of the project. In consultancy you work for companies like cushman wakefield or CBRE and deal with just the paperworks and management of the project. My question is would a proffesional with a RIBA(royal institute of british architects) charter and a RICS chartered would he be highly regarded in the proffesion? My goal in the end is to work abroad for an international developer in Dubai or South America

Aug 3, 08 6:47 am
quizzical

Can't really address the specifics of the organizations you mention, but I've always thought it would be a good thing if more architecturally trained people were involved on the PM side of the table - delivering a good project's much more than just budget, schedule and VE. PM's have the ability to exert huge influence over the quality of the final project - too often that influence is detrimental.

However, I expect you'll be entering a world that doesn't fully understand (or appreciate) what you can offer - you'll have to break new ground to be effective and that may be difficult. Nevertheless, I applaud your ambition and wish you well.

Good luck.

Aug 3, 08 8:18 am  · 
 · 
some person