Archinect
anchor

Traditional/Classical Architecture- Part 2

newportri1

I posted this thread less than a week ago but I haven't been able to check it until today. I was pleasantly surprised to see how many people commented. I genuinely appreciate that. I tried to add another comment to the thread, but I wasn't quite sure how so I decided to start a new thread. The link to the initial thread can be found here. 

http://archinect.com/forum/thread/77317445/traditional-classical-architecture-programs

Anyway, again. I am a high school student looking into architecture programs for college. I am most interested in studying traditional/classical architecture, but if not studying it, at the least practicing it. For those of you who are wondering, I am not actually from Newport, but it is my favorite place. I happen to be from Long Island, New York. Its great to hear that UC Denver has a good program. I have heard very good things about the program at the University of Miami, however those two schools are a bit out of my comfort zone for distance and climate. I am really only comfortable with staying in the United States going as  far south as Virginia and as a far west as Illinois. The University of Notre Dame, based on my research has the best and largest traditional architecture program. It seems to be the perfect match for me, however the University of Notre Dame is quite selective, and my grades/scores are significantly lower than those of accepted students to the university, sadly. However I am absolutley still applying there. It seems like there aren't really many architecture programs that have formally have traditional programs. But to the knowledge of this community, are there programs that if the curriculum is not "traditional" per say, are they still accepting of those who may have a more traditional architectural philosophy so to say. In addition, a program with a strong architectural history component is a great plus. I also consider UVa's Architectural Hist