Archinect
anchor

Acquiring Public Projects

herrarchitekt

I'd like to preface this topic by giving my appreciation to members/users of this site for the helpful antecdotes and suggestions in coping with such a challenging, yet rewarding profession. With that said...
I'm a licensed architect practicing as a sole-prop in my home, up and running for just under a year. I have been focusing my efforts on small residential and commercial jobs with the goal to grow into additional project types - civic, education, recreation, religious, and planning.
I've recently learned a very hard lesson of dedicating a majority of my resources (and anticipated income) w/ a private developer who, a few weeks ago, decided to not pay me for work completed over 3 months ago, and turn down a proposal for work that I had opened in my schedule for the next 6 weeks.
Obstacles aside, I'm interested in getting work in civic, educational, historic preservation, planning, recreational, and religious work.
So far:
-I've registered my practice as a small business enterprise in 2 municipalities & the surrounding counties,
-submitted my name and contact information on local municipal and school district vendor lists,
-acquired commerical, prof. liability, and addn'l. insurance req.,
-avidly reading thru marketing / networking material,
and am looking for any experience, suggestions, and ideas to make progress in this goal.
I understand past project experience in my firm or under past employers is a major factor in the reviewing process. I am looking at any suggestions beyond looking at working for short-term employment (less than 5 years) within an office that focuses on these type of projects.
Any and all suggestions would be appreciated...

Jul 21, 08 9:39 pm
binary

dont work in michigan........

and small budget projects are actually smaller to none as for a solid budget...

Jul 21, 08 9:41 pm  · 
 · 
herrarchitekt