Archinect
anchor

entry-level job without degree or CAD?

I have a BFS and am interested in working at a firm as part of an exploratory mission towards grad school in Architecture. Do any firms in NYC hire people without CAD knowledge or a degree? I have a lot of experience doing graphics and some model making experience. Would they hire an 'office helper'?

Would they pay ?

What kind of firms would you recommend looking at

Jul 16, 08 1:21 pm
A.R.Ch

I'm sure some firms are in need of a skilled set of hands to do the "dirty work" of model making and renderings. However, a lot of larger firms have full-time employees whose sole responsibilities are these tasks, and they are damn good at it.

I would look for medium sized firms who have the extra capital available to hire an office lackey, but not enough to fund their own workshops. Also, given that most recent grads are quite proficient at your given skill set, I would tailor my searches to firms that haven't yet delved into more advanced rendering and model-making techniques: essentially older, more complacent firms.

Jul 16, 08 2:41 pm  · 
 · 
binary

if you dont know all the hotness programs and dont have "office experience" then dont even bother....

Jul 16, 08 2:43 pm  · 
 · 
Appleseed

I know of a high profile firm in Santa Monica that hires un-trained and non-architecture educated people WAY more often then they should.......

Jul 16, 08 3:32 pm  · 
 · 
Antisthenes

you might as well start your own firm i think you are ready

Jul 16, 08 4:41 pm  · 
 · 

i meant bfa.

I am interested in an experience similar to an internship, in the sense that I am looking for some insight and experience, while still getting paid.

Jul 16, 08 5:04 pm  · 
 · 
xacto

im sure you can find something...in the meantime you may as well try playing around with cad

Jul 16, 08 5:46 pm  · 
 · 

I will try. No computer though :(

I write these dispatches from the library.

Jul 16, 08 5:57 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac