Archinect
anchor

Traditional/Classical Architecture programs

newportri1

Hi! I'm a prospective undergraduate architecture student. I am going to be starting my senior year of high school in September. For as long as I can remember, I have loved architecture, and am tremendously passionate about it. I am well aware of architecture degrees. I am open to either a B.Arch or BA/BS + M.Arch. I feel that there are pros and cons with both. In my college applications I would like to consider both options. Although I do have a large problem. I am inspired by classical and traditional architecture. I am certainly aware of the many citics of building buildings by traditional means in a traditional manner today. However, the varying opinions about architecture and how personal it is, is one of the best things about it. Architecta such as Robert AM Stern and Ferguson and Shamanian demonstrate that traditional buildings can seamlessly fit into the modern world and more than anything is an acceptable and viable design philosophy drawing inspiration from the past for the future. Architecture schools (from what I know, with exception to Notre Dame) have a very negative view of traditional architecture, and may only teach it in Architectural History courses, if at all. Based on the knowledge of h

Jul 17, 13 10:49 pm
Austen Redman

Yes, very few schools teach Classical architecture. It is quite common for people to produce modernist schemes while at college and then attach themselves to a Classical practice once they graduate. 

Jul 18, 13 9:30 am  · 
 · 
Beepbeep

Uc denver has classical architecture concentration now, kinda ruined the program for the rest of us though. 

Jul 18, 13 11:56 am  · 
 · 
designbyfrank

I would look into the University of Miami! they have a very strong classical architecture concentration!

Jul 18, 13 12:12 pm  · 
 · 
observant

Uc denver has classical architecture concentration now, kinda ruined the program for the rest of us though.