Archinect
anchor

Learning Construction before Architecture?

standaman

So I have this dillemma. I've just complete over 7 years of academic training (4yr BA + 3yr MArch) in architecture, and I still can't help but feel like I'm in the dark when it comes to how a building is actual constructed. This feeling has led me to wonder if really knowing how a building is built will be the key to becoming a better designer. So for my first job out of school, I've actually added construction companies to my list of places to apply. I figured this knowledge may be invaluable in my future pursuits.

In the long term, I wish to be an architect more than anything and designing is really my highest aspiration. For someone like me would this actually help or is it not worth the detour?

Jul 6, 08 1:32 am
A.R.Ch

i'm still a student myself, and the first piece of advice i ever received from an architect was to work construction. i tried to take his advice, and now i'm working a firm where i get to design and work at the site with the construction managers. it's a great balance, and working construction opens your eyes to a lot of details and situations that you would never fully investigate while in school.

Jul 6, 08 1:44 am  · 
 · 
binary

if you do construction.... stay in that route....

firms could really care less if you worked in the field... (ask how i know)........ so it will be twice as hard later on to get back in the typical arch. firms/office life

i'm sure others will chime in.......

Jul 6, 08 1:53 am  · 
 · 

cryz is perhaps correct.

if you want to do construction management then go that route, but if you want to be an architect is better to learn the trade of architecture. both will take as long and switching is not so easy unless you are careful.