Archinect
anchor

Not logging all hours

arch6

The last thread I posted had to do with me getting let go from the last job due to lack of structural knowledge.

So, I found a job with a contractor/builder and now I work as a designer for the Millworks part to the company and help with the project management. I update the website, and visit our projects weekly to take photos and post them online for our clients, thus getting to understand more about the construction world!

The builder and an architect, whom I am currently employed by work together on some projects and separately on others, based on whom the client chooses for each portion. I work 40 hours for the builder during the weekdays and work for the architect on the weekends and at night.

The architect that I work with did one year of architecture school, then decided to quit because from what he has explained "knew more then his professors about construction". (He is an old employee of the firm that I got let go from).

I explained to the architect, who has since become more or less my mentor that the builder was not paying me correctly (the builder agreed upon a certain amount when he hired me and then when I got my pay check, I realized that he conveniently decided to cut off 10,000 per year) and that now the builder wanted me to do jobs in house (doing all the drafting work for the remodels). The architect pays me more then the builder, so I asked the architect if it was appropriate to ask the builder for more money during the periods when I am doing drafting work. The architect replied that he did not feel that he could justify the pay he was currently giving me, again due to me structural knowledge. I thanked him for his honesty and explained that I was writing off hours, because I did not want for him (1 man company) to have to deal with the extra costs provided in training me.