Archinect
anchor

Out of curiosity; How many unemployed Architect graduates do we have here?

My name is Jay.
I'm an Architect graduate as of 2010. 
I live in Auckland, where there is very little demand for Architects, or designers in general.

But for the past week or so I've been checking out some Architecture groups/pages on Facebook. And it seems that the industry is taking a a huge hit all around the world. 

When I came across this site yesterday, I joined straight away. This is an awesome community, and I really want to get bit of a gauge on how many unemployed Architects/Designers do we have here?

I look forward to the feedback. 

JS

Jul 14, 13 9:27 am

By unemployed do you mean those not working at McDonald's?

Jul 14, 13 10:43 am  · 
 · 
marisco

Well, I am not employed at a traditional firm if that is what you mean. I graduated from my MArch in 2011 (I also have a BA in Urban Studies and an Architectural Technologies diploma). I've been unsuccessful at getting in at a firm here (Calgary, Canada), 200ish resumes and only 6 interviews, none of which panned out. But I am part owner of a home-building company since 2010 (I do all the design, design admin, IT, legal, business paperwork, a large chunk of supplier interaction and project management related activities), I also freelance a little and I am contemplating starting up another venture. I've almost given up the traditional route as getting my foot in the door doesn't seem to be working. 

As for other employment, I am also a bus driver: decent pay, benefits and job security. 

My biggest issue is the conundrum of they see me as having no experience, they want experience but no one wants to initially give me that experience (and most firms discount my activities in the company I own because it is not a traditional arch firm). 

Jul 14, 13 11:31 am  · 
 · 
kmce