Archinect
anchor

small projects with Sketchup...

dml955i

OK, this may be all too familiar territory (LB's recent thread on laptops/software comes to mind), but please bear with me...

I've got over ten years experience; the last six or so have been at a PA/PM level, so the majority of my computer time has been in the form of some minor (as needed) Autocad drafting, Adobe, and Excel type work - mostly custom residential stuff. About six/seven years ago, I was the FormZ guy in the office, cranking out some decent renderings, but since then I've done zero 3D modeling/rendering.

Anyhoo, I have to opportunity to start a small (
On the hardware side, I'm leaning towards a laptop. I'm happy working on either a PC or Mac, though my wife gets a great (30%ish) discount on Lenovos.

For software, I'm already planning to have MS Office and Adobe CS on board, but wanted to get some input from the folks with Sketchup experience. I've done a little research on Sketchup Pro and the price seems right, but would like to know more about it's 3D/rendering capability and more importantly, how effective it is at generating working drawings.

Trying to do this lean, and on the cheap - looking for good products, but don't want to go overboard with features, RAM, Graphics cards, bell/whistles, etc... just enough to get the job done well.

TIA...

Jul 1, 08 2:59 pm
marmkid

from what i can tell, i wouldnt expect working drawings of any decent quality from Sketchup
its basically just a modelling program, and you would waste more time making the drawings presentable than is worth it

its a good program to model in quickly though

i'd look for a cheap alternative to do your working drawings

Jul 1, 08 3:22 pm  · 
 · 
difficultfix

Sketchuop is great for the price

Rendering plugins

maxwell Render

Vray

NXT (irender) http://nxt.accurender.com/ (free)

Indigo Renderer http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/ (free)

Jul 1, 08 3:25 pm  · 
 ·