Archinect
anchor

NEW ARCHITECTURE STUDENT!!

xxxchinaboixxx

hey guys im a first year student at cal poly pomona majoring in... wat else? architecture... i was wondering if anyone could give me a few tips and stuff like that... anyways.. i took a few architecture workshops before.. but all we did was build models with glue and balsa wood.. i was just wondering wha the difficulty levels are like in math and stuff so i can work on those skills... thanks
Kevin(first time arc noobie)

Sep 20, 04 8:33 pm
tman

get out now...jk

in terms of design, i'd say just test out your own conceptual ideas and mess around with models and drawings that support that. Dont be afraid to take risks.

And most importantly, question "why"? For instance, why did i need glue and balsa wood to make all my previous models. Sometimes you dont need glue, or can use materials for texture, color, expression, etc.

i dont kno how math oriented cal poly is, but so far i havent had to use it in my studio class.

Sep 20, 04 9:32 pm  · 
 · 
A

Math shouldn't be too much of an issue in design studio. At least I've never heard about that. Most colleges require courses through at very least trig and most calculus I.

TMan has good advise. I'd add that you can learn much from your studio mates. Also, have fun with it. Architecture school can be grueling but it's more fun that working. Have fun with it.

I would say there is a reality of the real world though. Archinect is a good source for learning about making a good resume or portfolio. These days computer skills are vital. AutoCad is a necessity, although I wouldn't get hung up on that. 3D modeling is popular and employers like those skills as well. Guess my advise for now is to know your way around a computer but have fun with the pencils and x-actos for now. Wish I were back there.

Sep 20, 04 9:39 pm  · 
 · 
xxxchinaboixxx