Archinect
anchor

Foreign Architect

A_tOm

Hi, i'm a young Italian architect (graduated at Politecnico di Milano in Decdember 2006). I would like to know if is possible (and how) with my professional profile to work in the United States (now i'm working in Milan in a good architectural firm).
Are there specific requirements (minimum period of experience, specific degrees, etc)?

Someone can help me?.

Jun 20, 08 9:38 am
A_tOm

nobody can help me?

Jun 20, 08 12:31 pm  · 
 · 
allSTAR

hi. well there are requirements as such to work at an office in the US. its the standard format like any place else, just apply to a firm and if they like your work/select you, they will sponsor a work visa.
so it all depends on the job you are applying for.
however, you will not be a licensed architect since you don't have a US degree. i'm not sure of the requirements for foreigners to obtain a US license.

Jun 20, 08 1:07 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box

want to switch jobs? i'll even let you have my dog

Jun 20, 08 1:19 pm  · 
 · 
A_tOm

@ allSTAR ==> thx for your suggestions. I'll apply for a junior architect job in a firm in NYC i think. For the licence, here in Italy, i've a regular license but i don't know if in the us mine license is good.

@ holz.box ==> i'm not joking...

Jun 20, 08 2:10 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac

I don't think holz is joking either.

Working for an arch firm in the U.S. is easy, getting licensed with a degree from an italian school is night on impossible

Jun 20, 08 2:14 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

yes i will trade you straight up.

Jun 20, 08 2:44 pm  · 
 · 
A_tOm

@ Apurimac ==> Could you explain "getting licensed with a degree from an italian school is night on impossible"?

Jun 20, 08 2:59 pm  · 
 · 
MADianito