Archinect
anchor

the most annoying thing in the office today.

over_under

green-washing. hands down. contractors, owners, my boss... its gotta be "green" though they have no idea what it means. everything is green-washed. everyone wants to appear green, and few really do anything beyond put a good face on for the rest of the world to see.

im still a student, so im only interning this summer; and as a result get to leave this world of phony bull in the fall... for a different type of phony bull.. but for you guys in this for...basically...ever, i feel bad for ya.

while its good to have peoples minds on this type of thing. this "fad" and yes until people get educated on what it really means, it will only remain a "fad", drives me crazy.

Jun 18, 08 8:21 am
liberty bell

For me: the bad 70's music the cafe has chosen to play this morning.

Keep on rockin' me baby, while I finish this permit set.

Jun 18, 08 8:31 am  · 
 · 
mation

good point.

it seems that people are overusing and misusing the word "green" in the same way they've overused and misused the word "modern" in the past several decades.

Jun 18, 08 8:32 am  · 
 · 
Synergy

My experience has been that a lot of people are overwhelmed by the green movement. They don't know how to proceed and who to believe. It feels as though everyone in involved has their own agenda to forward and there aren't any accurate metrics to really objectively judge "greenness" yet.

A lot of senior people in our professions are rightfully cautious about the entire matter, I am sure they have seen many young engineers and architects come up preaching the latest "fad". Sometimes these fads catch on and become part of daily practice, othertimes they simply don't.

A certain level of reserved interest is probably appropriate at this point, otherwise you can get yourself so wrapped up in the hole matter that you become brainwashed.

Jun 18, 08 8:59 am  · 
 · 
facader