Archinect
anchor

Convention Center housing and parking requirements

neongig

Hey all,

I am a young designer and I am working on some purely conceptual sketches for my superiors. They are requesting a convention center / hotel with an attached parking garage. While I have some basic ideas in mind, I have a problem. I don't know what kind of space ratios I need to have for the convention center, hotel, and parking. For example, if I have a convention center with X amount of conference rooms, how many rooms would I need in the hotel? And how many parking spaces are required in the parking garage for that many rooms? I doubt a situation this specific would be covered by a building code, so is there some sort of rule of thumb that I should use.

I am just starting out my career and am totally lost. Please help!

Thanks so much everyone.

-neongig

Jul 1, 13 7:34 pm
toasteroven

where are you located?  parking and max size of hotel are usually covered in the zoning code.  otherwise you can probably find this info in a few different sources (arch graphic standads, neufert, etc...)

Jul 1, 13 8:14 pm  · 
 · 
A.R.Ch

Most convention centers post fairly detailed floor plans online for exhibitors.  Additionally, most cc hotels will advertise their key capacity.  Run through some precedents and generate your own ratios based on observation.

For starters, look at the Chicago McCormick Place, Atlanta World Congress Center, Orange County, and Washington DC Convention Centers. 

Jul 1, 13 10:44 pm  · 
 · 
won and done williams