Archinect
anchor

Bringing CATIA / GC / DP / etc to Television

archytect

Oy.

So I'm a designer on a popular TV show right now - we deal with interior design more than anything, but my training is as an architect.

I've been doing well, and the audience likes me - so I've tried pushing the boundaries a little here and there by bringing in some Digital Project and 3D CAD stuff, using CNC milling to create some organic forms for the show. The response has been incredulous and enthusiastic, and now they're asking me to put together another design show that allows me to focus on emerging technologies, methods, and materials.

Never woulda thought this was going to happen, but there we go. I'm excited, and I'm forging some new partnerships. I already have laser cutting and milling equipment donated, I'm working on some rapid prototyping machines to be sent over. Digital Project has expressed interest in providing some licenses, but I'm hoping CATIA might be interested, too. I want to showcase all that's out there - from Rhino up to CATIA, and show off all that we can do. It's a unique opportunity to experiment with these methods without having to pay for any software or hardware or materials - and be on TV doing it.

So here's why I'm on this forum right now: I need some help. I've been out of the CATIA world for a few years now, and I wasn't even that good at it when I was doing it. I need a real expert who can not only teach me, but also keep an eye out for whatever the latest thing to showcase might be. Essentially, I'm looking for an assistant that might get featured on the show, modelling and milling, making connections with manufacturers, etc. I'm not in charge of who gets to be featured, so that's a discussion that can take place later. (And if you don't want to be featured, that's OK too)