Archinect
anchor

Do I go back to grad school in another field or jump ship and try to find better work outside the the country?

arch6

I graduated with a Bachelor's of Architecture in 2007 with $60,000 in student loans. Since then I have worked for:

-1 architecture firm for 3 months

-1 builder/contractor as an in house designer- 1 yr.

-Another contractor as a construction estimator- 6 months 

-For a Telecom company as a junior project manager(assisting on telecom projects)- 6 months

-1 architecture firm for 3 months

-1 kitchen design company as a drafter(current) -3 months

In the middle of that and along the way, I have worked as a hostess and/or server, and night auditor at a hotel to compensate for the months in between architecture/construction jobs or low salaries. In total, I have only been unemployed for 4 months since graduation. My student loan payments are $750 per month(recently lowered from $850/mo thanks to Obama's Education plan) and I have only used 6 months of my forbearance for my loans.

I have been applying to jobs with architecture firms, but the last one was only willing to pay $38,000/yr and I live in California! At this rate, it seems like I will consistently need to have a second job for at least the next 5 years if I stay in architecture.

I am trying to decide if I should go back for my Master's in Public Policy or do a dual degree Master's in Public Policy/MBA. My goal is to focus on Public Policy for Urban Planning/ Building Materials and/or International trade. The programs I am looking at are $25,000 per year at 3 yrs and the average salary fresh out of college is $90,000. After 3 years the salary jumps to $115,000.