Archinect
anchor

Continuing career decisions

Just thought I might get other professional opinions on my current situation in the industry. At the age of 19 I moved to CA. to apprentice as a carpenter in the LA area, and did so for the next 3 years. During which time I married and decided to go back to school and get a degree in Architecture. I graduated in 96 from SCI-Arc and spent the next ten years working / interning at only 3 firms. The first 6 years I spent working was with a firm specializing in commercial / entertainment arch. Second was working with one of the high profile firms. Third was mainly residential. In 2005 I started taking the exams and passed my first three. In 2006 my last employer said it was time for me to fly solo and I did. Over the next two years it was amazing until the recession, which I have been blessed enough to make it through. Last year I tried to get back on finishing up the exams. Here is where it all went bad. Apparently due to changes of, or the implimentation of the IDP, I lost all my internship and have to start all over with my intern accreditation. I AM AT A MAJOR CROSSROADS! It seems so overwhelming to try and make this happen, so I thought I would look for some input from all of you. I feel as though I've done so much throughout my career for the title of Architect yet the last hurdle now seems impossibly difficult and is it worth it.

Ross

May 11, 13 3:35 pm
observant

I don't understand how this loss of IDP time/credit happened.   I think CA began IDP around 2001, and their own version of it.  Regardless, they (CA Board and NCARB) should know that hours accumulated after graduation and prior to CA-IDP count toward IDP.  Contact Wash DC's NCARB and the state board.