Archinect
anchor

Looking for Competitions Team Members

Larchinect

I am a professional landscape architect with a successful small practice looking to stretch my creative horizons on some open design competitions. 

I have what I would consider above average graphic and design skill and looking for an architect or apprentice architect with an equal and/or complementary skill set to team with on competitions.

Ideally I'm looking for someone eager and passionate about design and open to collaboration. 

Reply here and we can try to connect elsewhere.

May 10, 13 12:52 am
wurdan freo

Don’t enter awards competitions.
Just don’t. It’s not good for you. - Bruce Mau

I didn't get this for a long time, but I realize now that my time and skills are too valuable to be given away for free. Find a paying client. Don't waste your time.

May 10, 13 11:39 am  · 
 · 
usernametaken

If you are entering competitions to get commissions, you are right: it's a cannibalistic method to try to land a job. However, entering competitions for a completely different reason makes more sense: it can be a way to build up references for a kind of commissions you wouldn't normally get, it gives you publicity options locally (even if you didn't win), you can test and develop ideas you normally couldn't within the framework of a paying client... So it depends, there are a lot of reasons why entering open competitions could be a good idea.

Are you looking for people in specific locations or with specific topical interests?

May 10, 13 12:06 pm  · 
 · 
wurdan freo

It sounds like you're saying it could be a form of marketing. Correct?

May 10, 13 12:13 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

if your skills are valuable, don't do competitions because working for free is unprofitable

if your skills are not valuable, you aren't going to be profitable anyway, so go ahead and enter competitions.  you get better with practice and those competitions provide an avenue for practice.