Archinect
anchor

A Call to all UT Austin Architecture Students!! Need help!

uh huh

Hi all,

I am an incoming freshmen at the UT Austin School of Architecture. I am an out-of-state student who had just been awarded in-state tuition + a $1300 scholarship for my freshmen year. However, the in-state tuition is not guaranteed for my second year on.

The associate dean told me that I can continue to receive in-state tuition as long as my GPA is above 3.3 or 3.5. She also told me that UTSOA gives out three in-state tuition awards each year, one to an incoming freshmen, two to continuing students. 

I was going to dorm in Jester East for my first year( even got myself a roommate two days after enrollment), but looking at the situation is now, my parents are very weary that I might not be able to get in-state tuition second year. In order to qualify for residency, I must live off-campus as a freshmen for the first year. 

My questions are as follows:

1. How hard is it to maintain 3.3/3.5 of above GPA as an architecture major?

2. Would you recommend an out-of-state freshmen to live off-campus first year?

I was already planning to live off-campus second year on, but going off-campus first year already its a little freaky to me. All answers and opinions are welcome.

May 5, 13 10:00 pm
jamesherm

I would definitely recommend living off-campus, but not in West Campus. The dorms are on the opposite side of campus, overpriced, super crappy, and so overcrowded and noisy that everyone I know who took academics seriously hated it there. West Campus is substantially worse though (constant frat parties and stupidity).