Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Critique

Brad.DeBose

Hey guys im currently redoing my portfolio..Could i get your input..Im currently revising some Elevations and text within the entire portfolio..Please lend me your expertise..

http://issuu.com/brad.debose/docs/portfolio/19

May 3, 13 6:37 pm
observant

Brad:

I'm not an expert, but I have an opinion.  And opinions are like ass holes ... every one has one.

You have a lot of white space that requires infill with some succinct but explanatory prose.  Your flow of projects, via a palpable sequence, is a little slim.  Of course, this matters on what you studied before - are you at the 2 year step going into 2 final years for a BA/BS, or are you with an unrelated degree looking toward a M.Arch.?  What is your goal?  I see Howell Mill Road, which says ATL to me.  Are you at Southern Tech?  I'd really like to see some thorough building projects that go from conceptual to looking finished in no more than 4 pages for each, and not just some snippets which don't make for a more complete picture.  I also think the presentation styles vary too much.  Some variety is excellent, but it has to be coordinated as it changes medium or style.  Also, avoid logo type stuff, such as your initials or a fancy cursive signature, which commercialize the looks of the presentation.

I see some beautiful work in the handling of some drawings, such as the grand staircase and the window at the end.  You have a good hand.  I could almost see more of that, along some real tight and complete projects, though buffered and segregated. It needs to be more finished. 

May 4, 13 12:35 am  · 
 · 
snail

You need at least five times more content, and more descriptions - I have no idea what I'm looking at.

May 4, 13 2:22 am  · 
 · 
JayCon

I have to agree... I think I saw one drawing that intrigued me and a whole lot of white space.  There is nothing to take away from that other than you like to draw.

Questions you need to ask yourself: