Archinect
anchor

My "Not Up To Code" Room

Pyrodman

Hey guys I'm a second year civil engineer student have some of my architect buddies have shown some concern with my current living conditions. I'd really like some professional opinion and insight into the matter.

I am currently renting a basement bedroom in a townhouse like complex. My room is 10x12x10 ft and I live in London, Ontario

I'll get straight to the point and start with the major concerns:

1. Absolutely no emergency escape in case of fire. (Two windows in the basement, neither big enough for me to ever fit through.)

2. Only access out of basement is one set of stairs on the other side of the basement. 

3. Bed is located approximately 6.5 ft away from the electric hot water tank with only a 1 1/4" piece of drywall in between. The same can be said but approximately 4 ft away from the fuse box.

4. No apparent fire wall, or any other form of fire protection.

I don't want to start trouble with my landlord, however I do feel rather unsafe. Would these be costly to fix ? Is any of this even legal ? More dimensions can be taken if needed.

Any help at all would be great.

Thanks,

Pyro

Apr 11, 13 7:45 pm
sahar

Not sure what the local codes are in Canada, but you can't have apartments on the basement floor of a building unless more than 50% is above ground. If it is more than 50% below ground it is classified as a cellar which is uninhabitable.

I am guessing that you are in a cellar since you described your windows as small. I lived in one of these illegal apartments for a while. While I didn't feel unsafe, I missed the sun. 

The best solution, imo, is to look for another place. If your landlord gives you grief about breaking the lease, you can kindly point out the apartment is illegal.

Apr 11, 13 8:42 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Code-compliant?  Not code-compliant?  Who cares?  Get out now, while you can.

Apr 11, 13 9:06 pm  · 
 · 
marisco