Archinect
anchor

Expected responsibilities at firm? (<1yr out of school)

lionshcra

Hi there,

I completed my M.Arch last year and was fortunate enough to land a job with a firm that I'm currently employed with (less then 1yr later). I haven't done much of what I consider architecture work and thought I'd ask what's the norm 1st year employees should expect to do in a firm. I'm wondering if this varies my size/amount of work they have, etc. My firm is small (<10ppl)

What I mean by architecture is anything that qualifies as an IDP experience category. I've done <30hrs of CDs (cleaning up existing conditions). I've logged some SD and DD hours developing signage for a hospital. Nothing else really qualifies. No drawings. No buildings (besides the hospital signage) I've created marketing materials, helped their IT guy with server admin work and their website. That's about it. Is this unusual? I have a few years previous experience working with residential contractors (working a trade and creating CDs).

Apr 4, 13 7:56 pm
accesskb

As someone just out of school and lucky to have a job, you shouldn't be nit picking.  There are thousands with MArch degrees unemployed. =P

Apr 4, 13 9:43 pm  · 
 · 
toasteroven

You should expect to do more and continually prove that you can do more.

Apr 4, 13 10:19 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

What you describe is completely within the normal range for your level.  Enjoy paid employment!

Apr 4, 13 11:33 pm  · 
 · 
bindunarayan

You have mentioned that your company's present total working personnel count is less than 10, which means to say it is a small architecture firm. Take this aspect in a positive way, small companies are places where you can learn lot many things within a short span of time. So, move on and try to explore your opportunities at your workplace. 

Apr 5, 13 1:03 am  · 
 · 
nycdesigns