Archinect
anchor

RISD or Sci-Arc?

schindler28

Hello everyone.

I got acepted into the undergraduate program of both RISD and Sci-Arc.

i'm a foreign student therefore i find it quite hard to get "inside intel" in order to make the right choice.

i don't consider the national ranking as a factor because i know it doesn't reflect the real picture about each school.

Can you help me to get the right evaluation of each program?

I'm clueless and i dont know what to choose!

thanks a lot!

Apr 1, 13 9:41 am
kevin_lllam

Hi, I am a foreign student too, and I also get accepted into B.Arch in SCI-Arc.

I think the general comment of Sci-Arc is like pretty good school, firm undergraduate program, but FREAKING EXPENSIVE...

I guess the two most different thing between SCI-Arc an RISD should be:

! Location: SCI-Arc- LA, big city        RISD: Small town???

2. Style: SCI-Arc: Digital, Computional architecuture?        RISD: Art, more drawing?

These are just my superficial view, i am wondering that is here any current SCI-Arc student can share your experience with us?  

Thank you.

Apr 1, 13 3:22 pm  · 
 · 
schindler28

thank you kevin.

the thing is that although sic-atc undergrad program is ranked pretty much at the top of the table i haven't managed to find a single review on the web that says it a good place to achieve a bachelor.

is there anyone else who can help me with my crucial decision?

thank you all!

Apr 4, 13 4:13 am  · 
 · 
snail

Sci-arc is a great school, but for an undergrad RISD as an art school rather than only an architecture school would have the advantage of potentially exposing you to a wider range of subject areas. You can also take other liberal arts classes outside of art/architecture at Brown. I'm not sure how much time/ how many available course slots you would have for that in your architecture student schedule, but it's worth considering.

Apr 6, 13 12:46 am  · 
 · 
schindler28

thanks a lot snall!