Archinect
anchor

from the building trades to architecture school - should I bother?

kingedward

I'm a commercial/residential carpenter with 15 years of experience in the building trades.  As an undergrad, I studied painting and sculpture, and have been a prolific (albeit unsuccessful) fine artist for most of my life.  I recently applied to the M.Arch in interior architecture at the University of Oregon at the suggestion of my girlfriend, and to my surprise I just found out that I've been accepted.  Now I'm wondering if the investment of time and financial resources will be worth it.  On the one hand, I know that I won't be able to handle the physical labor of my occupation for too much longer, and I would also love to be able to apply my artistic abilities in my profession.  On the other hand, I worry about spending a lot of time and money on a program that will not gurantee entry into what I understand to be an extremely volatile and competitive profession.  At 39, I feel that whatever move I make next has to be one that puts me in a solid profession.  

I'm wondering if anyone thinks that my experience as a carpenter would make me more of an asset potential employers.  Also wondering if anyone could tell me about the reputation of the U of O, in particular its interior architecture program.  I selected that course because I had heard that job prospects for interior architecture were better in the current economy - is this true?  

Any advice would be appreciated.  Thank you.  

Mar 20, 13 3:59 pm
ncecchi

You will likely experience severe culture shock. If you can handle that, you will most likely be good. 

Most employers will not count your background as meaningful experience, and many will actively discount it, but it will make you a better designer, whether they want to admit it or not.

Mar 20, 13 5:23 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro