Archinect
anchor

Hello, Got into three year March program, is it possible to negotiate for two year program?

jj7988

Hello,

I got into RISD, Syracuse's three years program with no money and I am on the waitlist of Michigan's two years program. 

Is it possible for me to ask RISD or Syracuse to put me into two years program, since there should be some people who were admitted to two years program but going to turn down the offer?

I have a four year degree in architecture and almost no work experience. 

Thanks a lot.

Mar 11, 13 2:54 pm
observant

Just made a comment on this on "Is 3.5 years Worth it?"  Sure, I'd want to know why, but don't get testy with them in case that ends up being your alma mater.  How long until U. Mich. clears its wait list?  Do you have any other decent safe schools where you were a 2-year guaranteed admit?

For M.Arch., work experience is practically irrelevant, having seen 4s go right into 2s with minimal work experience.

Mar 11, 13 3:03 pm  · 
 · 

Is it possible for me to ask RISD or Syracuse to put me into two years program, since there should be some people who were admitted to two years program but going to turn down the offer?

This scenario isn't possible.  RISD and Syracuse don't have two-year programs.

What you can do, however, is contact the school and ask about advanced standing, and opting out of classes which you have taken already through your undergraduate program.  You'll want to track down the syllabus of any course you want credit for, and have it ready to submit to the school.  Most likely, you won't be able to opt out of studios (due in part to accreditation requirements), which will mean you're still there for 3 years, but you may be able to do it part-time (nothing but studio for the 2nd half), or take electives instead of retaking things you've done already.

You could also ask if anyone has turned down scholarship money that you can snatch up.  Worth a shot, right?

Mar 11, 13 3:47 pm  · 
 · 
Beepbeep