Archinect
anchor

Making It (Happen) In The Midwest

mega_pointe

Greetings,

I'm a soon-to-be graduate of an undergrad architecture program in the Midwest. Many of my fellow colleagues are choosing to move away from the Midwest for either graduate school or starting their professional career in architecture. This has led me to wonder what the state of architecture is in the Midwest. It seems obvious to me that there are many interesting opportunities for research and practice out in the west and east coasts, but what of the Midwest?

I've chosen to stay in the Midwest for graduate school due to many reasons. Some of them being personal, affordability, availability of technology, etc. However, the greatest reason for staying is my faith in the ability to become a skilled/progressive/hard-working architect through the teachings of faculty and mentors here in the Midwest. 

I am interested in finding what people believe it takes to not only survive as an architect in the Midwest, but also have a significant presence in the architectural world. I see signs of people making an effort to make critical, well-thought architecture here. But too often architecture here seems to represent something less than what I believe is the greatest form of art. I know much of this is dependent on money, which is far less present here than it is on either the east or west coast. Does that excuse the lack of architecture that makes bold statements and provokes interesting architectural discussion?

I want to see a culture of architecture grow in the Midwest and I'm looking for insight on how to make it (happen).

Mar 4, 13 11:05 am
b3tadine[sutures]

midwest? chicago, nebraska, TC???

Mar 4, 13 11:08 am  · 
 · 
vado retro

I don’t know what it is about Hoosiers, but wherever you go there is always a Hoosier doing something very important there.-Kurt Vonnegut.

Mar 4, 13 11:27 am  · 
 · 
mega_pointe