Archinect
anchor

thesis project on art

asna

I am currently doing my thesis on favelas and art. do you know any essays to suggest me? i am more focused on how their art is a way of resistance and the meaning they want to pass. can you please help me out?

Feb 20, 13 10:19 am
BulgarBlogger

The idea of resistance is an interesting one... examine the idea of Guerrilla Warfare, operating in scattered, informal, and often illegal ways. Check these names out: 

Adbusters (Kalle Lasn), Architecture for Humanity (Cameron Sinclair), Pierre Bourdieu, Design Corp, Che Guevara, Michel Foucault, Heavy Trash, Jersey Devils, Kick Start International, Light (Jae Cha), Mad Housers, Carlos Marighella, and Rural Studios (Samuel Mockbee).

Maybe this will help you somehow... 

Feb 20, 13 11:48 am  · 
 · 
don't be a goat

Above suggestions are great. Check out JR's work (graffiti artist).

Feb 21, 13 11:05 pm  · 
 · 

Banksy

Feb 22, 13 12:27 am  · 
 · 
IamGray

Some (more) names worth checking: 

Marc Angelil and Rainer Hehl ETH: http://www.angelil.arch.ethz.ch , recently did a book called Building Brazil, have written on Favelas, political economies of urban space. http://vimeo.com/34796368

Actually, you should check out the entire symposium that the last video is from. http://vimeo.com/album/1793079/page:1/sort:preset/format:thumbnail , Lectures from Francis Kere and Fernando Garcia Huidobro for instance could be helpful although they're not directly talking about Favelas.

Estudio Teddy Cruz 

Leo Lambert ( http://thefunambulist.net ), a French blogger who writes extensively on militarized architecture, and resistance.

Feb 22, 13 7:45 am  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

Nice links above, but I think that the focus of the project may be sidetracked by the literal interpretation of resistance...