Archinect
anchor

Contract worker in NY

petclark

I have been pursuing my architects license in NYS for the past 6 years and have been working mainly with one architect as an independent contractor on a part time basis. Recently I completed all of the hours for the IDP, and had NCARB send my record over to the NYS Board of Professions. I then requested to take the ARE, but received a letter saying that I was not eligible to take the exam. I understand that in order to sit for the exam you are required to have at least 9 units and in order to sit for the exam and must have 12 to receive your license, with a minimum 4 units practical experience (equivalent to 4 years work experience). I called the Board and found out that I had received 7 units for my schooling, but the work experience I received over the past 6 years only amounted to 1 year of acceptable experience. I read on the NYS Board of Professions architecture website that hours earned as a contract worker or as a consultant typically will not be accepted (which I had never seen before or been told about) I was told when I called the board that in order for me to receive credit with the architect I typically work with I must be a traditional employee (ie. on payroll). Any additional work I complete as an independent contractor will not count towards my license. I wonder if anyone else has been through this? I was under the impression that if you worked under the direct supervision of an architect licensed in NYS the hours would be acceptable to the board. Whether you are a contract worker or a traditional employee is more of a tax structure issue. Figured I would put it out there and see if I am the only one in this boat. I am willing to work the next four years towards my license because I love design, architecture, and construction, but it is pretty frustrating when you work towards something and then get told that you are working the wrong way.

Feb 17, 13 2:49 pm

From the NYS Licensing website: