Archinect
anchor

Study Abroad?

cameronkraus

I'm a first year architecture student and have been thinking about studying abroad in Rome. I would probably do it for about a semester (most-likely during my third year). It has many benefits, such a looking good on a resume and increasing ones cultural diversity/knowledge (just to list a few). But there is a little price difference, and I would be away from home for awhile. I've been to Italy before on a senior trip that was a little over a week and I throughly enjoyed it. Although, studying abroad is a little different from a week visit as a tourist. I have a few years to think about it, but if anyone has studied abroad and want to share their experiences or advice that would be great. Thanks!

Feb 13, 13 4:36 pm
Sarah Hamilton

I personally think everyone should spend a minimum of 3 months studying or living abroad. You will learn more about yourself, than you will learn about your studies, but it will be invaluable.

When I studied abroad, in Rome, for a full semester, I actually saved money.

Feb 13, 13 4:59 pm  · 
 · 
observant

Everybody I know who has done a semester in Rome, or anywhere in Europe, has loved it, and they talk about it as adults.  The best thing about Europe, in addition to the visual experiences, is all the funny stories you will come back with..  Personally, I would not want to do it because I like to travel for travel's sake and because I would worry that I would want to keep sightseeing and not do my school work.  But, for most people, I recommend it.  The only thing to consider is, if you are at a state school, if that will change your residency status.  It doesn't hurt to ask. 

And, if you're a woman, do you really want to study "a  broad?"  And for anyone considering an exchange program across the Pacific, make sure it's a "youth in Asia" deal rather than its more dire sounding "cousin."

Feb 13, 13 5:11 pm  · 
 · 
EliseJ

Hi everyone!