Archinect
anchor

Currently an Engineering Student, but Prospective Master's in Architecture Student...Is There Any Hope?

cruiserchris

Hello All,

I recently stumbled upon this website and I think it's great!

Anyway, here's my story/predicament: I am currently a junior undergrad majoring in naval architecture (ship design) at SUNY Maritime College in Throggs Neck, NY. When I graduate, I will be classified as an engineer rather than an architect. You're probably thinking to yourself, "Naval architecture? Engineer? What the heck is he doing here?" Let me explain.

My original love was for architecture. This love spanned back to elementary school. I loved drawing buildings, house plans, building with LEGOs, etc. (I still do!) I thought I would be going to college for architecture...that is, until the economy went belly up. After coming to a realization that having that newly printed bachelor's of architecture degree was essentially worthless, I decided to pursue my other passion- ships. So here I am, a few semesters from graduating, and I'm not as happy or satisfied as when I first started. I have found out that what I am doing is roughly 95% engineering and 5% architecture/creativity. Don't get me wrong; I am fascinated with the things I learn here, but I just miss the creativity and it's not the major I thought it would be. Everything is all technical and requires knowledge of most of the fields in engineering.

All of our focus is based upon building utilitarian ships, ie container ships, tankers, etc. What I really want to get into is cruise ship/yacht design. I feel that after earning my naval architecture degree and getting my master's in architecture, getting my dream job should be more attainable. Yes, I know I have to start small, but I am willing to work my way up the ranks. My academic adviser said this was a great idea, but he raised the same issue I had- JOBS.