Archinect
anchor

Info on Urban Prediction Software / Spatial Network Analysis

funmash

Could anybody give me information on urban dominant path/spatial network modeling software? (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spatia...alysis_software, http://www.awe-communications.com/P...rison/index.htm , http://www.spacesyntax.org/software/index.asp) I've recently found this and am looking at it for a project focusing on its architectural relationship. I am currently looking at Depthmap, but any information on any of this software would be helpful.

The items that I think are interesting are where this could fail. Examples relating to the development of a model area to the magnitude of certain buildings or areas in the prediction (a theater will probably have a greater importance in a community than a parking lot). Additionally, certain aspects of a city will repel development, and I'm not sure how this is programmed into this software.

I'm just getting started in this so if any of you have any resources/references or knowledge about this kind of thing, that'd be great. Thanks in advance.

Oct 14, 07 4:07 pm
ArT.

Sounds really interesting. The descriptions are really vague though. I'm not quite sure I understand how the programs work. Do you input data, or is it read from a dataset file? What kinds of things is it used for specifically? Is it just more specific GIS, or is there another way to use it? It could be a really useful tool, but it also seems like it may just be some fluff.

Oct 15, 07 8:54 am  · 
 · 
funmash