Archinect
anchor

Is 3.5 years Worth It?

Spackle

Any recent MArch 1 graduates out there?

Considering my masters but the 3-3.5 year commitment is a major turn off. 

Would like to hear some insight about peoples experience during their time at school and what they took away from it. 

I have canceled my applications two years in a row to work internationally. With some money in the bank and some great experience under my belt, I need to make a decision on school or going after my first real estate project, which will be tiny. 

Background in urban planning and currently work in urban design for an architecture and real estate development company in Central America.

Thanks in advance!

Jan 14, 13 12:16 pm
observant

If you want to be an architect and able to license in all US and Canadian jurisdictions, what other choice do you have?  Yes, I am a graduate of such a program.  I went that route because I ditched my plans to pursue a B.Arch. while a high school senior.  It seems that graduate level professional school is either 2 years, 3 years or 4 years, putting a "career change" M.Arch. squarely in the middle.  It's funny that some call it a M. Arch. 1.  I'm used to seeing it called M. Arch 3.  I am ok with 3 years and one is so busy, that the time goes by quickly.  Not only that, one is very focused, because they are not in contact with other academic units and the frivolity found in undergraduates at so many schools.  I have a slight problem with 3.5 years.  I actually prefer the formats where an additional summer, on a full-time basis, is inserted either before the first year or during the summers.  If you do it this way, the time commitment is actually 2 years and 11 months (summer before) or 2 years and 9 months (summer in-between).  I know of a few schools using the 2+2 format, and I find this unacceptable, since it requires the same time as medical or dental school.  There is no way I could have stayed in the field for which my previous education prepared m