Archinect
anchor

Decisions on software to use

O. Kiley

Hello, I am a landscape architect grad student working on an extensive and complicated river site for my master's project. Our group is needing to conduct the design work on top of GIS data, and somehow translate our built plan into a fully 3D environmnet. I'm looking for advice on what set of programs would work best for this.

Currently we have ArcGIS 9.1 (well-trained in this app), AutoCAD, and sketchup. We can import GIS data in autocad to make some base drawings, but how best to get this into 3d? I've played around with popping things up in sketchup, but then what?

Things we're looking at:

- Vue6 infinite/xtream -> nice rendering and plant functions

- 3D Studio Max

- Maya

- Pure rendering solutions?

Any advice on constructing an accurate "3D" world would be great.

Sep 23, 07 10:08 pm
O. Kiley

Vectorworks?

Sep 23, 07 10:09 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac

vectorworks can do accurate 3d drawings of terrain?

Try Rhinoceros, if you know auto cad its really easy to pick up. You can make splines using topographical data imported as a .dwg into the program and loft or sweep your way to making your terrain.

Sep 24, 07 9:31 pm  · 
 · 
FOG Lite

I'm not really familiar with it at all, but I think Vue would be the killer app for Landscape Arch. It is made for plants and terrain so there must be something in there that can create accurate terrain.

I myself am a Rhino fan, but you'll have a tough time when it's time to add plants. If Vue fails in the accurate modeling of terrain I know it is pretty easy to get a Rhino file into Vue. and terrain can be a one button affair once you've got all your curves at the proper elevations.

Sep 24, 07 10:50 pm  · 
 · 
O. Kiley

thanks for the tips. I've been playing around with vue a little more in the past day. It works quite well and makes nice renderings. The terrain editing tools are pretty weakly developed.