Archinect
anchor

Laptop/Desktop for 3D Modeling/Rendering/Visualising, maybe gaming :P

scottishrequiem

Hi,

Just creating this thread as I'm currently in need of a new laptop or desktop to continue my studies in Architectural Technology.

I'm in my 2nd year at university and well, this current laptop can't handle having revit/photoshop/browser up for long periods of time and rendering takes ages for somewhat ok quality renders.

I'm in search for a new laptop or desktop but I'm not the greatest with all the new technology out there that's available. I'm aware that 3D modeling/rendering rely on processor and graphics.

My question is;

What processors and graphics cards should I be aiming for as I don't know the benchmark technology today.

What do you guys recommend, I'll give an estimated budget to help with providing information, my budget would be roughly £1000. 

If you require any more information to help point me in the right direction, just ask :)

Thanks,

A Scotsman.

Dec 14, 12 5:46 pm
accesskb

Quadcore processors.. I got a duo core around 2.8 three years ago with an Nvidia Quadro graphics card and thought that was pretty fast then. 

From what I researched back then, its either/or.  Graphics card for 3d modeling/rendering etc is different from gaming graphics card.  Buying a top of the line gaming graphics card would probably not work well for your 3D needs compared to a cheaper card geard for our industry. 

Dec 14, 12 7:24 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

Are you willing to build your own desktop? 

The first thing you need to be aware of are what components determine the performance of certain programs...

Revit requires as much RAM as possible

Rendering is largely based on CPU performance

Photoshop generally benefits from a good CPU and a large amount of RAM when creating your boards.

Rhino pulls most of its weight from your CPU and a lot of RAM is utilized by Grasshopper.