Archinect
anchor

Guidance re: M.Arch degree

Prometheus

I'm a working professional looking at studying architecture as a grad student in Fall 2014. I graduated from the Illinois Institute of Technology with a BS in Business Administration, but I have been interested in architecture for a long time and now want to go to grad school to study it.

Professionally I want to focus (at least at this time) on residential and commercial architecture, but that could change as time goes on. Stylistically, I lean more towards neo-modernism and some elements of post-modern architecture.

Now as a non-design major, I realize I am at a disadvantage, but how much so? I have been trying to work on this by working to improve my art skills (sketching, mainly) but also by trying to network with local architects and architecture firms in an effort to create a professional network that will hopefully help me later if I successfully get into (and graduate) from a master's program.

Here's what I'm curious about:

1) Paying for school: I want to keep the loans to a minimum, but I suspect this may be impossible given my low GPA (2.83) and the fact that I'm not a design major. Suggestions?

2) Where to go: Obviously IIT is at the top of my list since I had undergraduate experience with the architecture program (a semester long project) and love the school overall, but I also want to keep my options open. I want schools that have strong alumni networks but which also produce architects that actually get buildings built.

3) What to look for in good architecture programs: All I basically know to look for are "Do I like the feel of this school?" and "Do I like the output of the students and faculty?"...but there has to be better criteria for choosing schools, especially for such a long-term decision.