Archinect
anchor

Qualified Yet Struggling

BulgarBlogger

I am sure there are many discussions about this out there, but I thought I'd post a thread on this issue as well. 

SO: here's a little background about myself... 

I graduated with a B.Arch in 2011 with three award nominations for my thesis research project. I have a published essay in architectural theory. I earned a LEED AP+ credential. I started to take my ARE's (I only took 1 of 7, Structural Systems and passed). I have about 2500 hours of IDP completed. I am currently working for a luxury residential general contractor company in Manhattan to earn credits in project management and CA for IDP. I have plenty of construction documentation experience as well. 

Why is it that now that I want to return to architectural design, is it so difficult to even find even an internship with my qualifications? At my old firm, there are Project Managers that are not licensed yet I have more under my belt than them... I get the importance of experience, but doesn't my commitment to becoming a professional worth something in the eyes of employers? Haven't my accomplishments put me ahead of many others? What am I missing? Should I abandon my dream of becoming an architect?

This is what I have wanted to be since third grade! I am becoming depressed every time I don't hear back from a firm that I thought I poured everything into when writing the cover letter. 

Am I alone in this?

Dec 3, 12 7:13 pm

The industry is still in a coma. Those hiring can be extremely picky about who they interview. There was indeed a day, where enthusiasm, integrity, love of Architecture, etc...could get you far in the interview process. Now, firms are looking for more computer skills, proven management experience, and anyone who can prove to be efficient....show me what you've done, not what you think you can do...It's still brutal out there.

Dec 3, 12 7:40 pm  · 
 · 
CrazyHouseCat

Augustinpe1,