Archinect
anchor

Transferring Out of Architecture School???

Archi49

I'm in my first semester of Architecture School and so far I am not really liking it as much as I hoped. I am more of an analytic guy that likes to study and gain knowledge rather than build and make projects all the time.

While I do like making the models and doing the drawings, I feel like I am not really learning how I hoped, not in the traditional classroom sense that other majors typically provide. The workload is not terrible but I just feel like my time is being used unproductively. I feel like it is not really school. My professors say I am one of the top in my studio but I am missing traditional high school studying and reading text books and stuff like that.

My favorite classes in high school were history, math, and economics. I'm just wondering if it gets better and I should continue or if I should switch out. I do like architecture and buildings and real estate but am unsure if I like architecture school. 

If I do transfer, any suggestions of good majors to choose that apply my interests?

Nov 11, 12 3:24 pm
zonker

Computer Science

Nov 11, 12 4:16 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

i believe most schools have majors in history, math, and economics.  from you interests in high school, i would think any of these would be a good fit for you.

there might not be much of a job waiting for you with a history degree.

Nov 11, 12 5:51 pm  · 
 · 
snail

Maybe you should look more at the history/theory/criticism side of architecture? Does your program have increasing numbers of history/theory classes, or opportunities to take them, as you progress further?

Nov 11, 12 7:43 pm  · 
 · 
wurdan freo

Hmmm... lets see. You like economics and math... maybe you should study...oh... I don't know... ECONOMICS!!!! 

WTF!!! You hear that little voice in your head... listen to it. 

If you still want to be around the built environment, get a finance degree and work in real estate.