Archinect
anchor

Photoshop 'shadows'

zacman

Ok probably a really dumb question.

- I am a student; I want to beef up my standard 2d Cad line drawings, (plans, sections, elevations).

I have seen images that show shadows in plan, and show light casting from windows and opening over the walls.

How is this achieved in photoshop? I have played around with 'blending options' for a layer but it does not produce the desired effect.

What i'm after is the shadows to be something similar to this;
*but done in photoshop and not by hand

Jul 11, 07 12:16 pm

1) I would use Illustrator instead of Photoshop if you're capable. That way if something changes, it's easy to change

2) use transparency. I particularly like transparency set to "multiply" as it lets the black lines of the drawing show through clearly.

3) use layers

Jul 11, 07 12:41 pm  · 
 · 
sparch

this is how i would do it.

i would creat a layer, and fill areas of desired shadow with black or dark gray, and play around with filter... (artistic?) i don't have photoshop around me right now. so...

Jul 11, 07 12:48 pm  · 
 · 
KEG

I don't how to type it and not show it, but
-lock the line drawing layer.
-marquee the area to receive the shadow (so that the area creating the shadow stays clean
-new layer, take spray paint with a large soft spread and change the opacity to about 50% (or whatever looks best).
-Select a gray color and spray the perimeter of the selected area so that the heaviest/ most opaque part of the spray is right next to the thing casting the shadow and it fades out from there.
-use the same theory of where and how to put the shadows as indicated in the image you like above.
-if you want the cross-hatch affect (as the hand drawing above) play around with the Angled strokes filter or crosshatch filter and see if you like the look. Because the shadow is on a different layer, you can manipulate just that without ruining the rest of the drawing.

I don't know if that helps without showing...