Archinect
anchor

Too Old For School?

Spackle

28 going on 29....This is the second year in a row I have canceled my MArch applications due to a work opportunity.

If I apply next year, I will be 33 when I graduate.

Am I getting too old for school?

Resume is...

Education

• BA. Urban Studies 2010 | San Francisco State. 3.6 GPA
  • Certificate Landscape Architecture:  3 Studios | UC Berkeley Extension

Work

Urban Designer | Studio 506, San Jose Costra Rica (current)

Marketing and Proposal Manager + Lead Master Planner | American Iraqi Solutions Group | Basra, Iraq (9 months)

Urban Design Fellow | Institut of Teknologi, Surabaya Indonesia (5 months)

Bicycle + Pedestrian Planner | San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency - Livable Streets (1.5 years)

Planning + Design Intern | San Francisco Parks Council (6 months)

Oct 31, 12 10:17 am
zonker

Too old?

33 when you graduate? thats too old? what about 54? - well that's how old I was when I graduated with an M.arch - then got hired by SOM-SF 

Try Cal or CCA - You are still young - don't wait until I did my M.arch - the on;y reason I got a job at Skidmore, was because I ws one of the few who knew Revit back in '07 - save for that, I would never have got in.

Oct 31, 12 12:23 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Too old?  Ha!

• MArch at 38
  • PhD at 45
  • Retirement at 112
Oct 31, 12 1:34 pm  · 
 · 
Rusty!
  • Death at 112.1
  • Partial student loan forgiveness at 113
Oct 31, 12 1:40 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Yes, deferred schooling has its price.

Oct 31, 12 1:48 pm  · 
 · 
gwharton

My brother in law quit his job as a principal design engineer when he was 44 in order to go to medical school, so no, you're not "too old."

On the other hand, life is short. How much of it do you want to spend in school?

Oct 31, 12 2:22 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oscar_Niemeyer

Oscar's 104 and still practicing

Oct 31, 12 2:28 pm  · 
 · 
modelcitizen