Archinect
anchor

using AutoCAD in the office

robyn

Hi everyone,

I have been asked to participate in a little AutoCAD test by a potential employer to make sure that I am competent enough in the software.  I have no problem with that as I feel pretty confident in my autoCAD skills, however being a recent grad I do not have much direct experience working on AutoCAD drawings in an office.  

Any of you seasoned architects out there have advice for me?  is there anything I should know about setting up drawings in an office versus just doing school projects in AutoCAD?  Any industry standards, rules of thumb, etc I should know about?  I am pretty comfortable with CAD and have a good handle on the commands, etc, but I'd like to prepare myself.  I know these are all vague questions but I'd appreciate any tips!  

Oct 29, 12 1:54 pm
larslarson

if you know how to use Autocad you should be fine.  One thing you'll learn is that every office has their own standard...trying to prepare for that would be impossible.  They should teach you how they do things...some firms label and dimension in model space...some in paper space..some in the sheet file some in the xref etc. etc.  There's a ton of variables...but if you know how to work with all the commands it shouldn't be a problem.

Oct 29, 12 3:50 pm  · 
 · 
RH-Arch

just make sure you know how to go back and forth in paper and model space and edit/setup sheet layouts that reference the view ports, do xrefs, and also layer manager and change line weights, etc. 

Oct 29, 12 3:56 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

its be good to be comfortable with veiwport properties and annotative scales.  since every office is differenct its hard to know what to expect.  autocad has many ways to skin a cat

Oct 29, 12 4:06 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

Be able to thoroughly understand DIM Styles and how to deal with X-refs - how to set up views with proper scale and how to plot

Oct 29, 12 4:12 pm  · 
 · 
i r giv up