Archinect
anchor

architectural specifications

nelpiper

Hi. I am very interested on architectural visualization and I have been doing some unofficial work using 3DS MAX and Vray. My background is computer science mutimedia. Is there any website that has specifications for doors, windows, walls, etc? Dimensions of length, width, hight? Thanks.

Jun 13, 07 5:36 am

you can kind of make up what you want, nelpiper. while a lot of manufacturers have their own standard sizes, most can also make up custom sizes.

if you know what you want (for residential, for example: pella, marvin, anderson) you can just go to that manufacturer's site to see what their standards are. they might even have downloadable cad files that you can use.

for commercial windows, typically you won't be using a standard size at all; it'll be made up out of stock pieces and you can make what you want. check out vistawall, wausau, kawneer for examples.

same rules apply for doors for the most part.

for walls, you're on your own. the possibilities are endless.

you should fully expect to get flamed, by the way. you're asking a bunch of people who resist standard ways of doing things - designers - to tell you how to get free access to standards that you can copy. probably so that you/your clients can do an end run around using our profession at all. not likely to be a friendly crowd....

Jun 13, 07 7:51 am  · 
 · 
Philarch

Although I'm not usually the kind of person to do so, let me be the first to flame you (in a kind manner).