Archinect
anchor

about portfolio!!

xuan

Hi everyone.

I'm currently a junior student majoring Industrial Engineering, which means I totally have no experience on architecture...The shit I've been studying absolutely had nothing to do with architecture.. But I really wanna be an architect and I'm applying 2008 fall.

Well since that it's all about portfolio, I'm wondering where I can check out some graduate acceptance portfolio(March.I would be better).. I have no idea what kind of stuff should be put into a portfolio and what they look like when they are done..

Could anyone help?..

Jun 13, 07 2:55 am
ham-ARC

Let me try to help. I just completed my portfolio as a transfer studnet for SCI-Arc. I know you wnat to apply for your masters but our portfolios will not be too far off. First research which school you want to get into. For example SCi-Arc, they have one of the tp graduate programs. They would like to see more art influenced medias in your portfolio if you have no architecture experience. Include paintings, drawings, sketches, sculpture, etc... Once you have collected all your work, format it into a layout made in Adobe Illustrator. The more thought the better.

Jun 13, 07 3:35 am  · 
 · 
xuan

hm...

should I try to design a house or do some interior design? or I just put together some random drawings, sketches and stuff?

Jun 13, 07 3:45 am  · 
 · 
Manther

Get yourself a book on Architecture student portfolios. If you have never put one together before, this would be a good way to start. Check out "Portfolio Design" by Harold Linton. It will give you a good pretty generic idea of what is good and what is not good.
My own personal preference, nice big images. One per page, full bleed if they are really good. Save the painstaking task of trying to lay out multiple pictures on a page, something which has great potential to go disasterously wrong. Simple in a protfolio is always better.