Archinect
anchor

For the guitarists out there...

boxy

I have a question. I've been playing for about ten years and it's time for me to invest in a solid acoustic guitar. I don't want to spend more than $500. I'm thinking of trying to find a pre-fender Tacoma DR-20 or DM-9 because i feel that 500 isn't enough for a decent martin or taylor. Plus i think i prefer Tacomas over any other acoustic guitar. Any suggestions?

Jun 12, 07 4:15 pm
toroid

what kind of sound are you trying to get?

Jun 12, 07 4:18 pm  · 
 · 
boxy

like a vintage cabernet... rich, full bodied, meaty

Jun 12, 07 4:20 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

I would look at

http://www.simonandpatrick.com/

There was a 12 string of theirs that I had my eye on...

also, if you want to 'invest' in a good acoustic, $500 is a low number. I would see what you could get for a little more than that (if you can afford it) and go from there. If you love playing, the extra $$$ (if you can afford it) will be worth it

Jun 12, 07 4:20 pm  · 
 · 
toroid

i second that comment - don't skimp on the sound - that means you will be looking at solid tops, not ply/veneer gits - they are gonna run from 5 and up

i would recommend you check out Seagull if you are dead set on that budget (-500)...

they have solid, guitars and all the wood is sustainably harvested - Canadian-made, but they don't have (in my experience) the bottom end that a more expensive guitar will have...

t...

Jun 12, 07 4:29 pm  · 
 · 
mightylittle™

i'd agree with toroid and mdler. and seagulls are nice, but they have always seemed to lack much in the way of heft, weight...balls if you will.

depends what you'll be playing. indigo girls? robert fripp? lester flatts? cake?

either way, what are you playing now? will $500 buy you a worthy successor? or should you put it off another year and save another $500 and buy a real sweet axe.

Jun 12, 07 4:38 pm  · 
 · 
boxy