Archinect
anchor

Architecture: My Biggest Let Down

Mc Taco

Four years of architectural studies has resulted in my own inner lunacy. I’m struggling at the fact if this is what I want to do for the rest of my life. Something that I always cherished and loved since High School is washing me away as an individual. Where has my love gone? I simply don’t know myself. Some, if not all of my emotions come from college. A place that rendered me into an unconfident individual who does not know anything about architecture… but I have a degree in it. A degree about knowing nothing! Wow that makes me feel so good inside! Now all this time I have (wasted) waited and I am now working in a firm filled with individuals who do not care about the profession and crank out “McMansions” for their McDonalds Manager salary. Saddest part is that I could hardly design and get a McMansion built! I will not lie. I thought I was going to be working amongst ambitious individuals who strive everyday to excel in their lives but from the look of the shit boxes they transport themselves in I am worried. The other day I had to pick up my boss off the street because his 1980 Tercel broke down on the highway. I have lost all my motivation and hope. I have gone to lowest point as of crying, asking myself why I followed this path. I was given the responsibility at work to design a playroom addition for a home and have failed at that. What has school prepared me for? The money sucks and I honestly don’t see myself going anywhere in life with a nine to five dead end job. I have been thinking about going into a whole new field, but I am 4 years older and not sure if I can handle the pressures of school. I am in a phase of if this is where I give up. Half way through my architectural studies I was at this same point, and now victorious holding the piece of paper with my name on it, I wish I would have given up! That’s not a characteristic of mine, unfortunally, I did not know it was going to be like this.