Archinect
anchor

Render's Salary??

outthere

Im just starting out in the field and i have about a year experience in architecture doing drafting and CD's. I think I have some pretty good capabilitys in rendering-photoshop-illustrator-etc. but i havent gotten to utilize these skills. Knowing that good renders go for about $500-1500 if I changed my job and became a renderer what could i expect to make? ..or would freelance be the way to go?

Jun 2, 07 8:58 pm
outthere

also any info and thoughts on this field would def help

Jun 2, 07 9:01 pm  · 
 · 
cowgill

i made $1100 in a week but killed myself doing it because I didn't have a good workflow since it was my first gig. If I had analyzed my process and standardized/streamilined my workflow, I would have easily been twice as productive...

it basically comes down to how you work, how good you are, and if you have your own machines to render on or if you have pay to "farm" the renderings out.

Jun 3, 07 11:19 am  · 
 · 
FOG Lite

I think CGarchitect did a pretty comprehensive salary poll last year. Their website is a better place to ask industry specific questions.

http://www.cgarchitect.com/vb/16006-2006-salary-survey.html

Freelance viz has the same complications any freelance gig does, finding clients, keeping clients, getting clients to pay up, paying quarterly taxes and your own health care, etc.

But there are some wonderful rewards as well, working from home/ coffeeshop and a higher rate of pay.

I think the best course of action for you would be to first get some experience under your belt either at the office you work for now or finding another office that does more viz work to gain some experience. Good rendering skills are just another tool in your belt, like being able to pull together a good set of CD's, but you need a portfolio to get paying freelance work.

Jun 3, 07 12:13 pm  · 
 · 
trace™

$500-1500 is very, very inexpensive for quality work.