Archinect
anchor

Visiting LA bldgs with no car.

4haus

Hi,

Im an architect from Ireland who will be in LA in a couple of weeks and want to visit some buildings there. I am backpacking and have no car or drivers licence. Is it feasible to get around LA on public transport? if not will taxis cost the earth to get to some of these places. On the hit list are:

Hollyhock house
Ennis Brown house
la miniatura
Schindler House
Moneo Cathederal

Can anyone who lives there or knows the story please fill me in on how out of the way these places are? cheers for the advice

May 16, 07 8:16 pm

You can see the Moneo Cathedral, the Disney Concert Hall, and Morphosis' Caltrans HQ in one stop. They're all a few blocks from each other downtown.

May 16, 07 8:22 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

when are you going to be in LA??? sounds like you need a tour guide. I give tours in exchange for good Irish whiskey

May 16, 07 8:24 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

and then from downtown you can take the redline to hollywood and sunset and walk up hill to the hollyhock

May 16, 07 8:25 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

you can get to the Hollyhock house by subway from downtown

May 16, 07 8:26 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

then take a sunset blvd bus or santa monica blvd bus and head west to the schindler house (possibly a 2-3 hour bus trip)

May 16, 07 8:30 pm  · 
 · 
tlmII

you can't get to Ennis Brown easily via public transportation but should definitely go while it's under construction and fairly accessible; it's not far from Hollyhock. Getting to La Miniatura can be done via light rail and a long walk but it may not be worth it because it's very inaccessible and there's not much to look at from the public street

May 16, 07 8:41 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

the cab ride from hollyhock to ennis brown will probably cost you around 10-15 dollars one way...

May 16, 07 9:07 pm  · 
 · 
n_

If you do the Moneo Catherdral, Disney Concert Hall, and CalTrans building, you may as well stop by the Museum of Contemporary Art .