Archinect
anchor

Tips for keeping project information organized?

loac

I am a junior architect, just starting to work with the team on my third major project in a medium-sized office.

On the first couple projects I worked on, I was amazed at the sheer amount of information that needs to be kept track of. Mainly product/system information and meeting notes, but also other random stuff too. I took notes and had a notebook, but was overwhelmed with the quantity of information, and want to avoid that if possible. Primarily I want never have to say “I don’t remember” or “I’m not sure” when I am asked about decisions that have been made in the project.

It can be either digital or paper in a notebook. I do have an iPad with a stylus that  I could use for this, however I think that the convenience and ubiquity of pen and paper will likely win over the iPad.

Surely some of you more experienced architects out there have good systems for keeping this all organized. So what are your tips or systems you like to use?

Sep 20, 12 12:08 pm
won and done williams

We use Newforma project management software. Its best feature is the ability to file and search every email coming in and out of a project. It also allows you to track downloads of transmittals to see who has received them and who has not. Between those two features, you can track and retrieve almost all project correspondence without having to max out disk space on your Outlook.

Another tip is to create a well-organized network folder structure and maintain it. Keep folders for every document release, scan every marked up submittal, record every RFI and response and do it in such a way that you will easily be able to retrieve what you have filed. It sounds obvious, but I have met very few people organized enough to do it.